yours, tiramisu

time is a jet plane, it moves too fast

I move out of New York in less than two weeks. I have mixed feelings about it: of course I'll miss living less than an hour from most of my friends, running into long-lost pals, and having things to write about everyday, but I'd be lying if I said I wasn't looking forward to having a room to myself, spending time in nature, and not hemorrhaging money. (I know I know, I'm just sick of adulting.)

Living in a shared Airbnb especially has started to grind my gears. I was fortunate to have mostly quiet roommates for the first few weeks, but recently my new roommates have made it their personal mission to disturb the silence after hours by testing the structural integrity of their bedframe (the headboard, in particular). And to make matters worse, during the day when they're out and about, contractors are making sure I'm intimately acquainted with the sounds of the cordless drill and the circular saw... right outside my window. I try to stay cool, but it's hard when I can't get much sleep and the sink is overflowing with dirty dishes.

I'm proud of all I was able to get done while I was here. My schedule became routine after the first few weeks, and it was hard to break out of old habits to finish my bucket list. That being said, I still got a good chunk of my bucket list checked off:

Completed

Still left to do

🥠

Recognize the title of this post? It's from Bob Dylan's "You're a Big Girl Now", a song I can't get enough of. That line opens the third verse:

Our conversation was short and sweet
It nearly swept me off my feet
And I'm back in the rain, oh
And you are on dry land
You made it there somehow
You're a big girl now

Bird on the horizon, sittin' on a fence
He's singin' his song for me at his own expense
And I'm just like that bird, oh
Singin' just for you
I hope that you can hear
Hear me singin' through these tears

Time is a jet plane, it moves too fast
Oh, but what a shame if all we've shared can't last
I can change, I swear, oh
See what you can do
I can make it through
You can make it, too

And he tops it with two even more heartbreaking verses, before closing the song out with a trembling harmonica solo. Bob's earsplitting harmonica can get on my nerves sometime, but I love it here—you can almost hear him crying as he plays it.

Love is so simple, to quote a phrase
You've known it all the time, I'm learnin' it these days
Oh, I know where I can find you, oh
In somebody's room
It's a price I have to pay
You're a big girl all the way

A change in the weather is known to be extreme
But what's the sense of changing horses in midstream?
I'm going out of my mind, oh
With a pain that stops and starts
Like a corkscrew to my heart
Ever since we've been apart

The other day my friend remarked, "Taylor Swift is Bob Dylan for women," trying to convey to me the impact seeing Taylor live had on her. I laughed, because for one that might be a brand new sentence, but also because I love how she knew just the right artist to pick to help me comprehend.


Highlights


thank you for reading; write to me at yourstiramisu 🐌 proton dot me

#english #journal #music #nyc