yours, tiramisu

who turned out the sun?

Today the sun blinded my eyes from the horizon as I drove to work. It was long gone by the time I got off work, and I drove home in darkness. This hasn't happened to me for a whileā€”it used all the time when I worked in Chile, due to the short winter days and fairly long work hours. But a combination of DST going away and working almost eleven hours brought me right back to those good olā€™ days overseas.

Getting off work only to be greeted by darkness always deflates me, in a sad quiet way. It reminds me that I've spent every single hour of daylight at work, trapped in a depressing windowless room doing things I don't particularly care for. Even if I technically have the same amount of time after work to myself, I can't play soccer or skate in the street after dark. Never mind that I might have wasted those precious hours of sunlight anyway; itā€™s not having the choice to fritter it away that makes me rue those hours of sunlight the most.

Recently Iā€™ve started writing a few pieces but not had the time to flesh them out. It's hard when you work ten or eleven hour days, because even when I finally get off work I'm so drained physically, mentally, and emotionally that the last thing I want to do is sit down at a desk and wring clear sentences out of my dried raisin of a brain.

That being said, short, unpolished pieces like this might be the best way I have to keep posting consistently. What do you think? Do you like reading more personal life updates like this? Or do you prefer the more focused essays I usually write? Let me know! Itā€™s been so nice to hear from those of you that have reached out.

As always, thank you so much for your time, attention, and continued support.

Lots of love,

~ tiramisĆŗ

#english #life #work