yours, tiramisu

what's that ringing I hear in my ears?

I did end up going to the concert I mentioned yesterday, and it was ... alright? The headliner was decent, but we did have to suffer through an hour and a half of dismal openers before we got there (someone literally boo'd, that's how bad it was). I also forgot my earplugs, and I've never regretted anything as much in my entire life. I discovered that they had a jar with free foam ones at the entrance on my way out of the venue and kicked myself the whole way home, ears ringing, for not noticing them prior.

To answer my past self's questions: no, it won't be so hard for you to see. The stage is slightly elevated, and if you go to a concert where the primary demographic is Asian women you'll be taller than the average attendee. I could see the performers pretty clearly even from the back, which was a nice surprise. You won't feel claustrophobic, at least if you don't stand at the very front. You'll get bumped into and stepped on occasionally, but it won't be anything you can't handle. You don't have to worry about any of those things, but BRING EARPLUGS!!! You will suffer a headache and permanent hearing damage to your fragile ears if you don't.

Even though I wasn't looking forward to standing for three hours straight, I didn't expect just how uncomfortable it'd be. I feel so old saying this, but my lower back hurt terribly by the end of the night. I assume this is a symptom of a larger issue like poor posture, but I don't know what the fix is. I will say that this episode slightly discouraged me from attending standing room only concerts. I just need a break to sit, rest, and stretch!

I got lunch with a friend today and while the food was great (mala dry pot fish, or 麻辣香锅?), I couldn't fully enjoy it. Our waitress intimidated me slightly with how earnestly and forcefully she took our orders, but I wasn't really unnerved until after our food came out and she stood and watched us eat from only a few feet away. I felt like I was on an impromptu episode of Kitchen Nightmares, watching the camera pan and fix onto her gaze drilling a hole into the side of my face. Look, I understand wanting to see a guest's first impression of the food to ensure nothing is amiss, but you don't have to stand there for five minutes straight! I didn't feel comfortable saying anything to my friend until she left.

The last time I felt this uncomfortable in public was a bubble tea shop I visited with some friends for the first (and last) time sometime last year, I think. The tea was fine and the workers didn't do anything to creep me out, but the shop was so silent you could have heard a pin drop. I was so uncomfortable listening to nothing but our voices bouncing off the bare walls and echoing around the shop that that I breathed a huge sigh of relief when we finally walked out the door. You'd think it wouldn't be so hard to play some Muzak or something, but maybe both of these cases can be chalked up to cultural differences or unfortunate inattention.

I've been thinking a lot about Van Neistat's new video about punctuality. I don't think I'm much like Van in many respects, but when it comes to punctuality our brains are wired the same. Here are the notes I took about his philosophy: (I left out some of the principles because they seem like common sense to me, but if you're a habitually tardy person then I definitely recommend watching the video.)

#english #journal #life #wordvomit