yours, tiramisu

"just take it one day at a time" (inertia for breakups)

I'm in the Delta lounge today, and I cannot tell you how nice it is to be able to go about life without the fear of running into coworkers here. This always happens when I'm at home, and when it does happen it's always like a jump scare because my boss will try to make small talk with me while I scheme to escape. This is one of the perks of getting away from home, and I'm happy to take a flight that's an hour longer for the peace of mind you get when you know you're surrounded by only strangers. Not being recognized is such a luxury.

Almost 3 months have passed since I first broke up with my ex and a month and a half since I stopped talking to her. I'm proud of myself for making it this far. I remember in the first few weeks getting this far felt impossible. I could hardly make it a day without reaching out. But inertia helps a lot—it's not that I want to talk to her any less (in fact, I still think about her every waking hour), but that it's easier not to do it when so many days have passed. There's a lot more friction around the habit of texting/calling her now.

I hate clichés more than anyone else, trust me, but "take it one day at a time" is apt here. It really is just like that. Every day that goes by you'll get a tiny bit closer to peace. It won't get better for a long time (I'm still a miserable wreck, honestly), but by taking the right steps at least you set yourself up for the possibility of healing. (At least that's what I'm telling myself.)


thank you for reading; write to me at yourstiramisu 🐌 proton dot me

#english #love