yours, tiramisu

sitting on dogs, again

I'm dogsitting a three-year-old Maltese Shih Tzu mix today. Her owner dropped her off this morning. 'Princess' is a pandemic puppy; she shook with anxiety for hours after her owner left and refrained from eating or drinking all day. Quiet, shy, and idle, she's been a dream to dogsit and reminds me of a cat. I took her for a few walks and outside of that she's been sitting in front of the door waiting for her owner to return the entire time. We don't deserve dogs...

yours, tiramisu

I finally got a call back from a job application; the recruiter set up a basic phone screen on Tuesday. As far as I can tell, it's for a bilingual tech support type role based in Sacramento. The role doesn't excite me, the pay is poor, and the Glassdoor reviews are worse, but half a loaf is better than none. I'm probably overqualified for the role (they don't even require a Bachelor's degree), but I'll worry about all those issues after I get the offer in hand.

One of my close friends told me yesterday that her dad might have a job to offer me too. It seems close to what I was doing in my last job (supply chain and ERP stuff), except hopefully less demanding. I'm worried, not just because I'm not sure if it's a role I actually want, but also because I don't want to let a friend's dad down after such a gesture of goodwill. I'd feel terrible if I hated the job or wanted out after only a few months. I'll get more details soon and shall decide once I have the whole picture.

My anxiety also stems from me questioning my ability to work hard in the wake of my most recent dismissal. I called a friend yesterday about it and he asked me if I felt like it was my fault. I'm adamant it was probably at least 30-40% on me, though I'm unsure whether to chalk it up to a lack of effort. Where do you draw the line between simply being unable to do something and not working hard enough for it?

I got summoned to jury duty this week. My parents (and everyone else I know) always try to wriggle out of it, but to be honest with you I'm curious to see what it's like. I know it'll likely be dull and I'm already dreading the early morning commute, but at the very least I'll get to experience something for the first time. And I know for a fact I'd be a better jury member than either of my parents, so there's that.

#english #life #wordvomit #work