yours, tiramisu

communication is lossy by default

"What goes on inside is just too fast and huge and all interconnected for words to do more than barely sketch the outlines of at most one tiny little part of it at any given instant." ~ David Foster Wallace

Visa has a post about how communication is lossy by default. It's a short read, but does a great job of capturing one of the anxieties I have about therapy: how is this complete stranger going to try to make me feel better with just the words I can tell them in an hour-long sessions?

Even though I already spend five, ten hours a week carefully picking out the right words to express how I feel in writing, doing so on the spot (and in spoken conversation, no less) to a total stranger is a daunting task. I'm worried I'll under- or overemphasize certain aspects of my experience, or forget to address others at all. Frankly, I'm not sure the words to sum up the suffering I felt in the past year have been invented yet.

Bob Dylan puts it best in "Idiot Wind":

You'll never know the the hurt I suffered
Nor the pain I rise above
And I'll never know the same about you
Your holiness or your kind of love
And it makes me feel so sorry


thank you for reading; write to me at yourstiramisu 🐌 proton dot me

#english #journal #life #writing