yours, tiramisu

i used chatGPT for the first time

I used OpenAI's ChatGPT for the first time yesterday. I know I'm very late to the party, but I've never been one of those people that flocks to new technologies. Instead, I like to sit on the sidelines and watch other people figure things out before jumping in. I don't like adding things to my life until I'm fairly certain they'll add value. Besides, the early adopters usually just help companies beta-test for free anyway. I also don't understand why the signup process requires both an email and a phone number. Isn't one good enough?

Now that I've used it, I have to say ChatGPT is a pretty extraordinary tool, even accounting for all the off-putting buzz about it (like people using it for stupid things). It helped me pass an open-internet certification exam at work, one that I'd already failed three times. I was amazed at how quickly it could come up with coherent answers that seemed correct, at least to me.

Now, ChatGPT wasn't perfect—even though it passed the exam, it only scored a 56% (I needed a 48% to pass), which meant many of the answers it gave me were incorrect. Nonetheless, the fact that it could take the awfully worded questions I gave it verbatim and spit out mostly right answers (and more accurately than I could) with substantial explanations still impresses me.

Some part of me wishes I'd starting fooling around with ChatGPT months ago, when everyone else was playing with it. I recognize now that it's a powerful tool that could save me lots of time at work if I learned to use it properly. I could have used it to help me pass other exams and write SQL queries, among other things. Moving forward I'm going to be trying to use it to expedite my tasks; I'll try to update you if I have any noteworthy findings.


thank you for reading; write to me at yourstiramisu 🐌 proton dot me

#english #work