yours, tiramisu

my 2023 reading year in review

I read 41 books this year, surpassing my goal of 30. This is up from last year's tally of 24, but being single and unemployed frees up a lot of time.

41 books sound like a lot, but a handful of these "books" are merely short stories. Counting books can be misleading for this reason, so I prefer to count pages, and this year I turned 10,359 pages. It's more than the 9,247 and 6,544 I read in 2021 and 2022, respectively, but less than the 12,011 I managed in 2020 (ah, peak COVID).

I don't know what to make my reading goal for next year. 13,000 pages? 35 books? I want to set an ambitious goal that will push me to read more, but at the same time I don't want to discourage myself from challenging myself with more difficult books that might take me longer to complete.

I've sorted all the books I read this year below based on how much I enjoyed reading them. I'd recommend anything in the first two sections (i.e. the very best and the great).

The very best 💎

The great ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

The good ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

The okay ⭐️⭐️⭐️

The forgettable

#books #english